30 °C Manila, PH
7th December 2023

The feast goes on at Madrid Fusion Manila 2018


MANILA – Madrid Fusion Manila sets its 4th staging at SMX Convention Center, Mall of Asia grounds on April 19-21 with another Michelin star-studded list of participating chefs from all over the world.

Department of Tourism Secretary Wanda Tulfo-Teo signed the Memorandum of Understanding together with Undersecretary Benito Bengzon, JrMadrid Fusion director Lourdes Plana, and business director Iñigo Iribarnegaray yesterday at Manila Peninsula Hotel.

In her speech, Secretary Teo thanked all their sponsors and partners, including media, in making the MFM, the most awaited culinary event in the region for the past years. Again, she enjoined all players to work together once more to ensure another banner year.

“DOT and travel industry partners hope to develop and promote culinary tourism and spur tourism arrivals. DA and entrepreneurs and farmers hope to create an awareness and demand for agriculture in the provinces, the DTI and the business sector hope to promote trade and business partnership in the food industry and tourism, the academe wishes to expose their students to the latest gastronomic trends and learn from the knowledge imparted by the great chefs in the world, and our media partners are chronicling all these exciting developments in food gastronomy and tourism. This project will bond all these sectors together, we are rallying behind one common goal of establishing the Philippines as the center of gastronomy in this part of the world. We ask for you to continue your support MFM 2018, International Gastronomy Congress, The Fusion Manila International Gastronomy Expo, and the expanded Flavors of the Philippines festival that will run the whole month of April and possibly expand to June countrywide, “she declared.

With the theme Innovating Traditions, the confirmed participating chefs for MFM 2018 are: Javier Estévez (La Tasqueria Madrid); Iñigo Lavado (Singular Irun); Roberto Ruiz (Punto MX, Madrid); Pepe Solla (Casa Solla, Pontevedra); Diego Gallegos (Sollo, Málaga); Paul Qui (Kuneho, Austin Texas); Matt Abergel (Ronin, Hong Kong); Mingoo Kang (Mingles, Seoul); LG Han (Labyrinth, Singapore); Aitor Jerónimo Orive (Iggy’s, Singapore); Hajime Yoneda, (Hajime, Osaka); and Curtis Duffy (Grace, Chicago).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.